Award winning children’s books

Every year the American Library Association presents awards in children’s literature.  The Newbery and the Caldecott Medals are considered the two most prestigious awards for children’s literature in the United States. This year’s Caldecott Award for the most distinguished American picture book went to “Locomotive,” illustrated by Brian Floca.  The Newbery Award for literature went to Kate DiCamillo for “Flora & Ulysses.”

Honor books for the Caldecott include “Journey,” written and illustrated by Aaron Becker;  Flora and the Flamingo,” written and illustrated by Molly Idle;  and “Mr. Wuffles!” written and illustrated by David Wiesner.  Newbery honors include  “Doll Bones,” written by Holly Black ; “The Year of Billy Miller,” written by Kevin Henkes ; “One Came Home,” written by Amy Timberlake ; and “Paperboy,” written by Vince Vawter.

Check these and previous award winners out at the library!

Posted in News

Visit Us!

Brown County Public Library
205 Locust Lane, P.O. Box 8
Nashville, Indiana 47448
(812) 988-2850 ph
(812)988-8119 fax

Monday-Thursday 9am-8pm
Friday-Saturday 9am-5pm
Sunday 1pm-5pm

Cordry Sweetwater
8751 Nineveh Road
Tuesday 2-5 pm
Wednesday 3-6 pm
Thursday 3-6 pm